The Rifles has five regular battalions, all doing the Army's critical roles at the sharp end.

The Rifles was formed in 2007 through the merger of four famous regiments and proudly remains the county regiment of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Durham, Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Oxfordshire, Shropshire, Somerset, Wiltshire and key parts of Yorkshire. The Regiment also retains strong historical ties to London, Liverpool, Merseyside, Birmingham, Coventry, Mansfield and Winchester. The Rifles is therefore a national regiment that seeks quality recruits from across the UK, British Commonwealth and the Republic of Ireland, subject to nationality conditions being met.


Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.